sansthelight

Hobo Hood

In painting, welding on February 22, 2015 at 1:34 am

I had an idea for a paint job on my welding hood.  I threw a bunch of painters tape on the helmet and sketched in my ideas.  I wanted to paint some classic hobo graffiti on the sides.  I knew that I wanted to include Herbie’s hobo under a palm tree and the Colossus of the Roads signature graffiti.  I thought I might include some of the hobo short hand signs as well.  I found some slogans that were written with the graffiti and thought that I might include one or two of them as well.  I got everything laid out on my helmet (a 3M Speedglass 9100).

20150221_172328 20150221_172335 20150221_172341

But while browsing through the photos of graffiti on the old rail cars I decided I really liked the look of the white chalk on the rusty metal of the cars.  I started thinking that maybe the hood should be painted like rust and it should probably be a little more angular than the robot styling of my Speedglass.  So  I went down to my local welding supply store and bought a basic Miller helmet for $40.  It doesn’t have the auto darkening but it does have a nice large viewing window and a slot for a cheater lens.  Most importantly it was cheap.  🙂  It was gloss black plastic which isn’t ideal.  But it was cheap.

Anyway, I scuffed it up with some sandpaper and hit it with some plastic primer and then started in on my rust paint job.  I have some specialty model paint for corrosion so I used a bit of it here and there to add to the rust effect.

20150221_154459

Once I was happy with that I used a paint marker to draw my graffiti.  I wasn’t completely happy with the Colossus side or the logo the first time I did them so I put some more rust paint over the top of them and drew them a second time.  Finally I hit it with some clear coat.  I managed to knick it up a bit just putting the hood back together so I need to find a better primer and clear coat at some point probably.  I will just have to see how it wears over the next little bit.

20150221_162927 20150221_162910 20150221_162914

In the mean time I’ve come up with a new idea for my Speedglass helmet.  Maybe tomorrow I will try and get it figured out.

Leave a Reply

