sansthelight

Life Update

In education, job hunting, money, planning, ramblings on November 6, 2014 at 3:00 am

After the failure of my business I moved in with Mom who generously offered up her guest room for me.  I spent a little bit of time driving from the west coast to the east to visit with friends.  After that i started job hunting.  It took about 6 weeks to find a job and even that wasn’t great.  Thanks to Obama-care nobody is hiring full time which means you have to somehow figure out how to coordinate two jobs and, in my case, school.  I haven’t been able to do that so I am trying to get by on one part time job that pays about $150 less per month than my bills require.  I bought a cheap car and am attempting to sell my good one.  That will help a little bit from an insurance standpoint and I will be able to pay off my credit cards some.

As for the school bit, yes I have gone back to college.  I am attempting to get an AS in Welding.  There is a big shortfall in welders at the moment as everybody my age and younger went to the university and nobody went to trade school.  The older guys are retiring and there is nobody behind them to step into the gap.  I am hoping this will be a good long term career choice that I will actually be able to live with.  I like making stuff and get a lot of satisfaction from it.  This should let me do that and will hopefully pay a decent wage on top of that.

The job is ok.  I am a lot associate at Home Depot.  I spend my days loading heavy things into peoples cars and pushing shopping carts up a steep hill.  I did lose 30 pounds in the first few months of working there so that is a bonus i guess.  I think I am doing a good job and have had a number of department supervisors tell me to apply for openings in their departments.  I have been doing that and even got to the interview part but it is easier for the store to hire to fill those positions than it is to fill my job so I have been stuck outside for the moment.  A full time job inside with a pay raise would make my life much easier.  The benefits would be great as well as I don’t have any insurance at the moment.

I guess that is it for the big stuff.  Doing my best to hang in there.  I do enjoy school and my job most days so that helps.  I will leave you with a picture of me in welding drag.  🙂

20141006_191006

Leave a Reply

