sansthelight

Chasing the Fog

In Uncategorized on January 12, 2014 at 6:05 pm

A problem with living somewhere that is always beautiful is that it makes it easy to procrastinate photographing it. “ya, it’s great out there. but it will be exactly the same tomorrow so i’ll take the camera out then instead. i’m just going to watch tv today.” Now that I will be moving at the end of the month my days here are numbered and I know that I have to be out with the camera everyday. Yesterday I was walking back from the laundry room and a bank of fog rolled in out of nowhere. I went and grabbed my camera thinking I could get some cool photos of palm trees in the mist. As I started towards the beach the fog bank receded such that I was always just outside of it. I would see a cool shot and by the time I got the camera up the fog would be gone and the scene would be bathed in sunlight. As I was headed towards the beach everyone else was leaving it. I started seeing people coming out of the fog. All of the joggers where out as well. They were running in and out of the mist. I saw a parallel between me literally chasing the fog and the joggers running towards the fog. My focus shifted and these are the shots I got that I liked. There are 3 shots that turned out more or less as I wanted and one happy accident caused the by the autofocus getting lost in the fog.

fog-4

fog

fog-2

fog-3

Leave a Reply

