sansthelight

Whew!

In business, money, moving, planning on January 7, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Well good news on the “leaving town” front. My landlords are awesome. If you ever need an apartment in Santa Barbara or Goleta, CA I highly recommend Victoria Management. They are possibly the best landlords I have ever had. They will let me out of the lease without penalty as long as they can get it rented. Worse case scenario for me is that I pay an extra month’s rent. Good news on the “closing the business” front as well. The credit card reader/service I was using (EPS, electronic payment systems i think) is very easy to deal with as well. I’ve been very happy with them over the 1.5 years we’ve been using them. The charging service just requires a letter and the date I want them to stop processing credit cards. The only hold back so far is the actual credit card scanner which is leased through the Merrick Bank. I haven’t been able to get a hold of somebody to see about canceling that. According to my lease agreement that should only be a $95 cancellation fee. I just need to get whatever paperwork they need to make it happen submitted. I think the bad weather their direction is probably to blame for my difficulties getting a hold of somebody. I don’t expect any problems with the process. That should be the last of the issues I have to deal with. The rest is just working out the month and getting utilities and such changed over the new owners. I’ll have a few final bills to pay next month but otherwise it’s just a matter of working and moving. The big decisions are made. The big hurdles appear to have been cleared. Most of the stress over this stage is slowly fading. I’m feeling much better now that I’ve been able to talk to my landlords. That is the bit that I was dreading because I really like them and don’t want to leave them in a lurch and because they could have charged me rather a lot if they wanted too.

-h

Leave a Reply

