sansthelight

Twinkle in the eye

In business, education, moving, planning, ramblings, therapy, travel on January 6, 2014 at 6:15 pm

I have the beginnings of a plan. It isn’t solid. It isn’t final. It might not even be vaguely realistic. Such is the way of things in the beginning I guess. I am looking at moving up the coast to my mother’s house. (the shame of having to move back in with your mom is something all men rightly fear.) This gives me a little bit of time to sort things out if needed. I’m looking at the community college where she lives. They have two programs for welding. One is an associates degree the other is just for certification. Both teach autocad and have some other more industrial and machining oriented courses as well as well as ornamental ironwork. It sounds like it is right up my alley, creative and anal all at the same time. 🙂 The college has somebody who’s job it is to help vets get what they need. I’m a vet so I approve of this. I will be using him even though most of my questions could probably be handled by admissions. Their new quarter starts in April. I will probably try and go to the east coast for a couple of weeks in the meantime. I hope to get out of the current mess without any debt so the only bills I will have are my phone and my car insurance in the short term. I’ll be able to be a bum for a little while so I want to go visit friends and family (and mooch off of them) for a bit. Hopefully that will give me back the energy I need to go forward. I’ve been pretty isolated from them while living in Santa Barbara. That is probably the hardest thing about the last couple of years. I’ve made some friends on-line through various video games and they have helped out more than they know. (btw MechWarrior online and WarThunder are the two I am currently playing. Both are great, both are free to play. Check them out.)

I am still researching some other options as well. The second one in priority is going back to Montana to attend Montana State University Billings. I attended MSU Bozeman for 4 years and have most of a BA already. I could step in with those existing credits and pursue something else. The Billings campus has programs for software develpment that include programing, app building, and data bases. This is pretty much all the computer oriented options I am interested in and they are all part of the same degree program. It’s a strong possibility if the first option doesn’t work out.

I had hoped to be moving to the Pacific Northwest when this chapter was over but right now it just doesn’t seem to be in the cards. This is more due to money than anything else. Because of the timing of the sale I will be making about $10-12k less than I had hoped. My mom’s house and Billings are the two cheaper options at the moment. There is a third option along that front as well but I have not really begun to explore it as it is even farther away from sister and her little girl and frankly, I didn’t think of it till yesterday. That is to move to North Carolina and live with my Grandfather for a little while. I haven’t asked him about this yet as I know if I tell him I need some place cheap to live he will worry. But I think he would be glad to have me. I can probably pursue any of the above courses in North Carolina as well. But I don’t have residency there and I don’t know how far away schools and programs would be from my Grandfathers house. He lives in a very small town so I would have to commute, probably to the Raleigh-Durham area. It’s an option, and an attractive one, but it’s probably 3rd on the list right now due to the unknowns and the distance from where I want to end up.

That’s it for now. It’s a work day for me and I have to start figuring out what needs to be done for the transfer of ownership at the end of the month, how to get out of my lease, etc, etc.

-h

Leave a Reply

