sansthelight

Well that’s your problem…

In 3D Printing, Crafts, Electronics on December 28, 2013 at 6:28 pm

WP_20131228_003

WP_20131228_002

The problem is pretty obvious when you get everything taken apart so that you can look at it. The two discolored ports are where the power wires for the print bed heater plug in. I think I should be able to remove the entire block of plugs (I am not actually sure what that thing is called.) Then I will try and find a replacement and solder the new one in the same place.

I have not done any soldering on electronics since 1997 or 98. That was to chip my PlayStation so that it would play European region locked games. I was living in Germany with an American region PlayStation so that was the only way for me to play games purchased locally on my system. That was pretty simple. I had expert help looking over my shoulder the entire time as well. I’m pretty sure everyone that helped me with that project is on my Facebook so they may see this and remember the project. In the last few years the only soldering I have done has been for automotive electrical work. That is much easier than soldering on electronics. Wish me luck.

I am going to watch a few youtube videos on the subject and then attempt to remove this block. As always, I’ll keep you in the loop and post some photos of how it goes.

-h

Leave a Reply

