sansthelight

Unheated Platform

In 3D Printing, Crafts on December 27, 2013 at 7:57 am

Ok. So the printer actually stayed on and printed with the unheated platform. I’ve made a couple of attempts at printing the pawns. This is the result:
Pawns v2
This is actually my second attempt at the pawns. The first one had a much thiner gear at the top. It was obviously horrible so I went back to the model and made it about 3 times thicker. Now they look more like mushrooms than anything else though. I”m not sure what I am going to do but this version isn’t the answer. Maybe I will try a planetary gear as base of the pawn and then do the top with a more traditional top. I’ll have to think about it some more. Maybe I will try modeling this idea tomorrow.

I also tried printing the queen with an unheated platform and the lower temperature nozzle. The lower nozzle temp seemed to work, but the unheated platform caused some pretty severe warping and curling. This is what it ended up looking like:
WP_20131226_004
You can see how bad the two pieces curled up. I will have to see if I can get it to run with the heated platform turned on. Maybe I can run it at a lower temperature than I was using before (70 degrees) and still get a good result. I’ll try that tomorrow as well. In the meantime at least the printer is working so there is some hope I’ll get this project finished.
-h

Leave a Reply

