sansthelight

Maybe?

In 3D Printing, Crafts on December 25, 2013 at 10:12 pm

I had a hunch. I played it. My best guess about why my 3D printer was shutting off was that it was drawing too much power and so the board was shutting down as a safety precaution. The house was pretty cold. I did crank the heat up when I noticed that the printer was having trouble bringing everything up to temp. It still seemed as though the printer was struggling with maintaining the correct temps. I decided to see if it would work today without heating the print platform. This way the board would need to draw less power. I think heating the platform is probably the biggest power draw and it is also the least necessary for printing with PLA. So far it seems to be working. The print job is 1 1/2 hours into the 11 hour print job and everything seems to be going well. It was a little messy for the first layer or two getting the media to stick to the unheated platform. Other than that it seems to be working perfectly. I’m hoping that this was the problem. I’m going to keep my fingers crossed and try to get the most important stuff printed as quickly as possible in case it decides to stop working again. I was going to start printing the board next so that my niece could help design the pawns. I have modified that plan in light of recent developments. I designed the pawns this morning and I will print them next. The board is the lead essential bit so it will have to wait till last. This isn’t ideal but it will have to work.

-h

edit: it seems as though i use a lot of run-on sentences. i’ve noticed that is the biggest thing i have to fix in editing.

edit 2: 3 hours in and the print failed. it failed for a different reason though. I ended up with a big glob of burned PLA that got stuck to the print. It was higher than the rest of the print job at that point so when the nozzle had to move past it, it knocked everything off by about half a mm. This caused the printer to lose it’s calibration and printed everything from that point on about 1/2 mm off to the side. The print is ruined, but the printer does appear to be working. Now I need to find out what is causing these blobs. This is the 2nd time the print job was ruined due to this same issue. Maybe I have the nozzle temp too high. I’ll try printing something colder and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

