sansthelight

Steam Rook

In 3D Printing, Crafts on December 13, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Inspiration hit me at about 1:30 AM last night just as I was going to bed.  I stopped getting ready for bed and went to find a piece of paper and a pen so that I could draw a quick sketch.

Image

Then I thought “It’s pretty simple.  I will model it real quick.”  I finally went to bed around 3:30 and my brain was still working to hard to go to sleep.  So I read for a little bit and finally turned out the light at 4:00.  This was result.

ImageImage

It’s noon here as I right this and I just got up.  I desperately need a shower and have a number of errands to do today.  Instead I am trying to get this optimized for printing.  I am hoping to send it to the printer and then start getting everything else I need to do finished.  This way, when I get home there will be a finished model for me!  That is the plan anyway.  I’ll get a photo added when I get it is finished printing.  Hopefully this will be in 4 or 5 hours.  Fingers crossed.

-h

edit: the slicer says 5 1/2 hours to print.

2nd edit: turns out I sliced this a solid print rather than with a 20% – 30% infill like I normally would do.  This is why it is taking 5 1/2 hours to print rather than 3-4 hours.  It will also take 32 grams of material rather than 17 grams.  Oh well.  I guess I will see what one of my prints looks like with 100% infill.   I doubt I will print the other rooks this way so one of them will be noticeably heavier than the others.  I wonder if my sister will notice.

Leave a Reply

