sansthelight

New Jersey

In 3D Printing, Crafts, ramblings on December 8, 2013 at 7:44 pm

A friend of mine seems to be having a bad week.  The pressure of finals coming up probably isn’t happening.  She is feeling a bit homesick at the moment I think so I thought I would make her something related to New Jersey.  As I mentioned in a previous post I had printed some 45 adapters for record players.  I thought I would try to make one with New Jersey on it.  Designing the model would be good practice for me working with a background reference image in Blender 3D as well.  Loading a background image in was something I knew could be done but I didn’t remember how to do it.  So I found a map of NJ and then watched a couple tutorials and got started.  Loading the background image was pretty easy.  Making the model was a bit more involved and fiddely than I had expected.  It took me about 3 to 3.5 hours to make.  I printed it first thing this morning and was initially a bit disappointed with it.  It turned out a bit too big (1 mm) maybe as well.  I sanded it down a little bit but was worried that if I kept at it, it wouldn’t be round by the time it was small enough.  I decided to print a second one slightly smaller.  I’ll have to drill out the middle hole a little bit as that was perfectly sized on the first print.  Since I didn’t need the first printing now I decided I would spray it with some primer so that I could see the detail a bit better.  After getting primer on it, I decided that I was actually pretty happy with the detail.  I’ll have to paint the final print as well I think.  Here is a picture of the first printing with primer:

Image

Should I just paint it a single color? (black and yellow seem to be the most common colors for this sort of thing) Or paint the state one color and the background another?  Painting the barrier islands might be a bit difficult but if I paint the background a dark color I can use a wash to help pick out the islands.  I’ll have to think about it for a bit.

-h

 

Leave a Reply

